SPT Data Products

Noise Power Spectral Density Functions for the 2008 Season

Download Links:

These files contain estimated Fourier-domain noise power spectral density (PSD) functions for South Pole Telescope (SPT) maps of the ra5h30dec-55 field observed during the 2008 season in the 150 GHz and 220 GHz bands, produced for the first SPT data release in December 2011. They are to be used with the associated map files, which use the Sanson-Flamsteed projection or the oblique Lambert equal-area azimuthal projection.

The PSDs are constructed using the jackknife noise estimation technique (J. Sayers et al. 2009 ApJ 690 1597; N. W. Halverson et al. 2009 ApJ 701 42). They are stored in the primary image arrays of FITS files. The units of the PSDs are K and not K^2. The PSDs are presented as a 3120-pixel by 3120-pixel Fourier-domain grid, where the grid in each dimension corresponds to 0, 2π/(NT), 2*2π/(NT), ... (N/2-1)*2π/(NT), 2π/(2T), -(N/2-1)*2π/(NT), ..., -2π/(NT) where N is the number of elements (3120) and T is the sampling interval in each dimension of the map (0.25 arcminutes).

The Sanson-Flamsteed projection file for each band contains the PSD estimated using the full map. Each oblique Lambert equal-area azimuthal projection file contains the PSD estimated for a subregion of the map covering approximately one-ninth of the map area. The two numerical tags in the file names (as well as the X_CEN/Y_CEN and RA_CEN/DEC_CEN keywords in the files) refer to the pixel locations in x and y at the center of the mask used to define the subregion.

A complete description of the observations, data processing, calibration, instrument response, and mapmaking process for this data release is in Schaffer et al. 2011, ApJ, 743, 90.

A service of the HEASARC and of the Astrophysics Science Division at NASA/GSFC
Goddard Space Flight Center, National Aeronautics and Space Administration
HEASARC Director: Dr. Andrew F. Ptak
LAMBDA Director: Dr. Thomas M. Essinger-Hileman
NASA Official: Dr. Thomas M. Essinger-Hileman
Web Curator: Mr. Michael R. Greason